h1

r.i.p. mr. dumas + hermes x jackie chan

May 13, 2010

i’ve recently read about the passing of hermes’ chief executive of thirty years, jean-louis dumas (also known as jean-louis robert frederic dumas-hermes) at the age of 72, from the new york times.  although hermes started out as a harness maker, they’ve been more famously known for their beautiful silk scarves, and those handcrafted kelly and birkin bags which, even after you’ve placed your order, there’s usually still a few-years wait before you get a hold of your unique handcrafted piece.  (though i personally know of people who own/carry them, i must admit, it’s hard for me to justify spending so much on one bag, when i could donate that amount of money to a more charitable cause helping those in real need.)

anyway…  i’ve always been a scarf person… i remember my mom gave me one of my first scarves when i was fourteen.  it was a beautiful hermes, my first hermes.  being the sentimental me, i have kept it with me all these years.  although i have not worn that particular one since high school, but whenever i look at it, it reminds me of my freshman year…a rather memorable year, to say the least.  ;)   upon reading the sad news of mr dumas‘ passing, i wanted to post something hermes as a little tribute.  so, it reminds me of another hermes scarf that my mom sent me last year…

hermes x jackie chan 1 c2010w

the scarf was given to my mom and it’s called “les tigreaux” which has a print of  two playful cubs on a blue background (i believe it comes in a beige version as well.)  my mom’s not really into scarves and knowing that i have a thing for limited editions, she passed it on to me.  :)  hermes did this exclusive coloration in limited edition of 400 especially for the jackie chan charitable foundation (jccf) jackie met with the ceo of hermes in paris while he was filming “rush hour 3” and they decided on this collaboration.  it was supposed to be released in time for the (beijing) olympic but got delayed until dec 2008.  the two energetic and joyful cubs represent the “bright future that jackie chan envisions for the generations to come” (as said on the note card that came with the scarf.)  i don’t think i’ll wear it anytime in the near future (it’s simply too mature and too loud for me :p)  please check out the link if you’re interested to learn more about the jackie chan‘s charity.  thanks again, mom! xoxo :)

…and may you r.i.p. mr. dumas…  …
(sorry for not iron-steaming the scarf before taking the photo below. my iron-steamer has broken and i haven’t had time to shop for a replacement, yet. :p)
hermes x jackie chan 2 c2010w

2 comments

  1. Thanks for

    your sharing, it’s very useful


  2. How cool! I love the first photo; love how you styled it.



leave a comment